Archive | 9:29 am

Sharing Is Caring

10 Apr

Something about the Pole Community that stands out amongst other Aerial disciplines is the way we share our information. This is evident in the classroom, online and out in the streets. It really is a Pole Community; not only do polers pick each other up after a fall, we let them know how they can prevent their next one. We all want the best for ourselves, including others, and we willingly share any helpful tips without a second thought.

Those Corde Lisse "tutorials" are all performance videos

Those Corde Lisse “tutorials” are all performance videos

Sadly, not all Aerialists share the drive to share information. Maybe there is some hidden online community that I have yet to find, so there’s a chance I will be later contradicting myself, but I have yet to find a single tutorial online for Corde Lisse. Every time I hop on the rope at work I fall deeper in love with its forearm seizing fibers. I’ve been able to try some pole inspired moves, but actual Corde Lisse moves? No tutorials in sight. What do I have to do? Watch YouTube videos over and over and over and over again with intermittent pausing. I could take classes, but I’d have to plan a family vacation around a private lesson at The Toronto School Of Circus Arts (not exactly down the street).

But why no tutorials? Well, for one thing, Circus Arts can be very challenging and very dangerous if done without the guidance of a trained expert. I’ve already been informed by my boss that I’m welcome to flip around the rope off the clock, but if I break my neck while on the job? Well, you get the idea. So, I understand the risk I take every time I invert on the rope, but I never try anything if I’m not 110% sure I’ll be able to do it safely. This means I won’t be attempting any crazy wrapping technique until I get that private lesson.

So, if anyone out there reading this knows of a Studio Veena of the Rope World (I know there’s lots out there for Silks and Lyra) for the love of god, please send me a link!

Why do I love the rope as much as I do?

– There’s no “warming up” the rope. Just grab and go!

– No need for grip aids (save for chalk occasionally)

– It’s more challenging than the pole, which means it’s improving my pole skills.

– It’s fucking badass

– You can bring a rope anywhere.

ANYWHERE.

First Blisters Deserve Toy Story Band-aids

First Blisters Deserve Toy Story Band-aids

Lean Fit and Healthy Forever

One Guys Journey to Fitness

Pole Product Reviews

Quality Pole Fitness Product Reviews

eat clean dance dirty

tasty tips & tales of a pole dancer

poledancecompetition

Dance. Train. Compete.

The Ottawa Doggie Club

We have started a facebook group to organize doggie play groups in Ottawa and surrounding areas. The group grew to about 70 member's in less then a week. So us and the members decided why not start trying to raise money for dog rescue organizations and charities. We are waiting for the nice weather to come so we can start our play dates :) Feel free to join our facebook group where we will be posting outings and charity and fundraising events on behalf of some of the rescues :)

Always twirling towards freedom

The X-Pole Blog

Leaders in Pole Fitness

rorieboat.wordpress.com/

DESIGN. CALLIGRAPHY. CHRISTIANITY.

folly in little city

a story about pole dancing, modern femininity and fancy lingerie

the pole place

exploring the art of pole dancing

ginadances

My love affair with the pole

Bon Bon Life

choosing to live a good good life

What Moves Us

Shockra Studio. New York City Dancing.

Poleista.co.uk

pole & aerial fitness, dance, art

Confessions of a Pole-oholic

Always twirling towards freedom

United Pole Artists

Always twirling towards freedom

I Love Pole Dancing, Me

Slightly altered from Friedrich Nietzsche's original thought, but i'm sure he wouldn't mind: “We should consider every day lost on which we have not pole danced at least once.” ― Friedrich Nietzsche/ Laura Gardner

2 Left Forks

Your tummy will thank you!

Ladies Who Pole

Four ladies. Four pole dancing adventures

Mizlizzle's Got Moves

The diary of an amateur pole dancer